homepage logo

County Commissioners elect Ruane chairman

Lee County Board of County Commissioners unanimously elect former Sanibel mayor

By Nathan Mayberg - Editor | Nov 17, 2020

Former Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane was elected chairman of the Lee County Board of County Commissioners on Tuesday

Former Sanibel Mayor Kevine Ruane, elected this month to his first term on the Lee County Board of County Commissioners representing District 1, was unanimously voted in by his fellow commissioners as chairman at Tuesday’s meeting.

Commissioner Cecil Pendergrass, who was not present at the meeting, was voted in as vice-chair.

Ruane replaces Commissioner Brian Hamman as chairman of the board. Ruane was elected to the commission to replace outgoing Commissioner John Manning.

Ruane, who manages financial lending firms in several states, did not make any comments after his appointment.

In comments made on Election Day, Ruane said water quality, “utilizing tax dollars properly” and the economy would be his focus. He stated he would push for more state support of infrastructure projects related to improving water quality. He cited the state’s Everglades Agricultural Area Storage Reservoir as one such project and the stormwater treatment component of the C-43 West Basin Storage Reservoir as another part of the Everglades restoration plan that was needed.