Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Lions Club offers up local scholarships

July 19, 2017
Jessica Salmond - News Editor ( , Fort Myers Beach Bulletin, Fort Myers Beach Observer

The Fort Myers Beach Lions Club delivered scholarships to 10 local students Thursday.

The club held an awards dinner and program at St. Raphael's Church, at which seven of the 10 students attended. Each student received $1,000.

Ron Martin, executive assistant fire chief of life safety and support services for the Fort Myers Beach Fire District, and Ed Milde of the Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) spoke as guests at the dinner. Both spoke about preparing for a disaster and taking an active role in one's safety.

Article Photos

Lions Club board member Darby Doerzbacher grants scholarships to Jacob Lee Franklin, William Holt Wallace, Annie Salyers, Madison Tezak, Sydney and Jordan Wallace and Taylor Sorrell. Not pictured, Jason Freeman, Karen Jahuey Garay, and Sarah Swiersz.

During a disaster, residents can't depend on emergency services for help. In some cases, emergency services themselves are victims of a disaster, such as losing equipment or personnel.

A hurricane preparedness plan should keep a household self-sufficient for 72 to 96 hours, Martin said.

Martin expanded his program to include other kinds of disasters, such as active shooters. Often, he said, witnesses will notice something strange but are afraid to say anything. Witnesses of the 2012 theater shooting in Aurora, Col., noticed the shooter acting strangely and dressed conspicuously, but no one said anything.

"If you see something, report it," Martin said. "You need to be an active participant in your safety."

The Lions had 24 applications for its scholarship program. Board member Darby Doerzbacher said judging the applications was one of the hardest things to do.

"We were looking at what you need and what you've given back to the community," she said. "We're here to serve you so you can serve the world."

List of recipients:

Jacob Franklin, Florida Atlantic University

Jason Freeman, University of Kentucky

Karen Jahuey Garay, Florida SouthWestern State College

Annie Salyers, George Washington University

Taylor Sorrell, Purdue University

Sarah Swiersz, University of Central Florida

Madison Tezak, Florida Gulf Coast University

Jordan Wallace , University of Florida

Sydney Wallace, University of Florida

William Holt Wallace, University of Florida



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web