Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

SWFL Boat of the Year awards announced

May 17, 2012
Fort Myers Beach Bulletin, Fort Myers Beach Observer

The Caloosahatchee Boat of The Year Series consists of eight sailing regattas throughout the year, hosted by Sailing Clubs in the Caloosa Region (Fort Myers area) including the Caloosahatchee Marching and Chowder Society (CMCS), Punta Gorda Sailing Club (PGSC) and Gulf Coast Sailing Club (GCSC). This year's eligible regattas included the Kayusa Cup (CMCS), Summerset Regatta (CMCS), the Festival of the Islands Regatta (CMCS), Commodores Cup (CMCS), Edison Gulf Regatta (CMCS) Conquistador's Cup (PGSC), Shrimp Festival Regatta (CMCS) and the Porsche Regatta (GCSC).

Results for the 2011-12 season: In the Spinnaker Division, 14 boats competed. In first place was Forrest Banks' Midnite Rider; second place was Joel Andrews' Macushla. In the Non-Spinnaker Division, 15 boats competed. In first place was Steve Romaine's Air Supply and in second place was Cecil Hazen's Desperado. In the Cruising Division, 25 boats competed. In first place was David Naumann's Jolly Mon; in second place was Arnie Pfalz' Laura Li; and in third place was Brock Johnson's Vixen. In the Multi-Hull Division, seven boats competed. In first place was Erik Soronen's Triumph.

Entry is open to all sailboat racers with a valid West Florida PHRF racing certificate. To qualify for an award one must compete in a minimum of three regattas. For more information on the series, visit, or

Article Photos




I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web